ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Digital Rebel - Some of my First shots....

Out of 136 images so far, here's the few that were decent. I haven't used a SLR before, so these aren't perfect. The one I like the most is of the spider though... it's eating a fly... so imagine how small they both are. I can't believe I even found it.

And the moon shot is about 20 minutes before the sunrise shots. I actually did take pictures of the sun before realizing that is probably gonna hurt the camera (and my eye).

These are all taken with the Rebel 18-55 lens or a Canon 75-300 that I got with it.

Please comment on them! You don't have to critique since I know I am still learning, but if you like anything or if I did anything RIGHT, let me know =D

Co-Moderator, Photography as Art forum megan's Avatar
    The moon is a nice catch!

Megan

To me..the second, third, & fourth images really stick out. I like how #3 gives enough light to get a good view of the town, yet doesnt draw all of my attention to the source. I think you should crop some of the sky out, and the tree to the right would be better out of the pic..but overall it definitely works.

#2, I'm not sure which part of the image grabs my attention first, but I would mess around with a little cropping on this picture, too. I like how there are basically three primary colors in the picture that don't blend, yet fit so nicely together. At the peak of the moutain where the sun is setting, it seems the light has over-exposed a few little sections, but then again it also looks like the moutains are 'cutting' the light..so it works for me.