ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

owning the rights?

so say you do a shoot for someone. can they use the shots they buy for whatever they want, but you maintain ownership of the rights to them?

I have worked for companies that purchased stock photos which had been used elsewhere (and i've actually seen them used elsewhere) and know that an image can be used repeatedly once purchased. I'm just not sure how it works in a freelance situation.

i'm sorry it this question sounds stupid -- i'm very new at all of this.

thanks!

Re: owning the rights?

First off it depends on what country your in. Second is there anything in writing stating how many uses or length of time limiting their uses? Most stock agencies have limits on how many uses and where the image can be used (at least the reputable agencies do).
    You really need to get on top of this if your images are being used without your permission.
    Even when I shot for the AP they had rights to use the photos for a period of 2 years from first publication, then everything reverts back to me. (hmmm, one of those expires today!).

JS
    Canon 1D
    Canon 1D MK II N
    Canon 70-200mm USM IS f2.8
    Canon 200mm f1.8 USM
    Canon 300mm f2.8 USM IS
    Canon 28-300mm USM IS f3.5-5.6
    Canon 50mm f1.8
    Vivitar 19-35mm f3.5-5.6

Pentax Forum Moderator

Hi Annie, Copyright law is very specific and it would behoove you to read up on it. They cover just about every aspect you could imagine. Much of it depends on whether or not you are an employee or freelance and eventually comes down to contracts if you're freelance. If you're freelance, you need to ensure that usage is properly defined "prior" to you accepting a job.