ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Thread: hi, i'm new

hi, i'm new

Hello all,

i've been an aspiring photographer for 2-3 years now. well maybe an amateur photographer. i'm self taught in that time and have learned alot. i started out with an used nikon n2000 after disposable cameras jsut wouldn't do for me. i love that camera, but last summer i bought a canon 1s is to help me learn. i have taken well over 9000 pictures with the digital since. and jsut recently my nikon refuses to turn on( not sure whats wrong or if i will get it fixed). so i'm planning on saving for a dslr, hopefully a d200 but maybe just a d70s (any info on which? i'm not sure i can get the $1700 for a while).

I'm a biologists so most of my pics are nature related, although i've branched in to landscapes since i've been in Utah all summer.

anyways i'm a very hard critique on my own pictures and hope to learn to take much better photographs by joining this forum so feel free to bash my pictures at will as long as its in a learning kind of way.
    check out my photography website
    http://dylanschneider.zenfolio.com/

Please feel free to edit or change any of my pictures to show me how to improve them.

Nikon D200
    Nikon D7000 w/grip
    Nikkor AF-S 18-135
    Nikkor AF-S 60mm macro 2.8
    Nikon 70-200 2.8 vr
    Nikon tc-17eII
    Kenoko extension tube set
    SB-600

Re: hi, i'm new

Hey Dylan. Maybe the Nikon has gone out in sympathy due to neglect ;)