Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Thread: watts vs. w/s

watts vs. w/s

I am fairly new to the photography game. Can someone explain the difference between watts and watts/sec. I understand it is the energy capacity of the light, but what is the difference between say a 500w continuous light and a 500w/s strobe. Or is it the same only one is continuous and one is just a brief flash.

I have a continuous two light system with one 500w shoot through umbrella and a 300w reflector umbrella and then the flash for the camera usually mounted on bracket. I get very mixed results with these. Last week a shoot with a family came out horribly dark, and a shoot last night with a little boy came out great, almost overexposed (a few shots are). I have been considering upgrading to something else, but I want to have my facts straight so I know what I am doing when looking at different light sets.

Thanks

Sports photo junkie jorgemonkey's Avatar

Re: watts vs. w/s

I'm still learning what all these studio light words mean, but I have a pair of 250W Tungsten lights and are pretty bright, but get very hot.

I just purchased a pair of 300 w/s strobes (the strobes are basically VERY powerful flashes) that are very bright. With the tungsten lights I had to shoot at a pretty slow shutter speed to get some decent depth of field in the photo, while with the strobes I can shoot up to 1/500th of a second and depending on how far away the subject is I can shoot around f/16 or so
    Nikon Samurai #21

Cameras:
    D700
    D300
    D200
    D2H

Lenses:
    Nikon 35mm F1.8, 35 F2, 50mm F1.8, 70-200 F2.8 VR
    Sigma 150mm F2.8 Macro
    Tokina 12-24 F4
    SB900 & SB800 flashes