Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Using multiple flashes versus lights

I'm new to photography and I'm gathering equipment to start doing family photos with my new daughter. So far I have a Rebel XT 350 with a 50mmEF1.8 lens. I've been looking at the possibility of buying a 420ex and/or 580ex flash so that I can use the slave capability. My question is: what is the difference between setting up a studio with mulitple flashes versus setting up lights? And, without spending out of the ballpark, anyone have any ideas as to what would be an appropriate plan for a "startup" home studio?

Re: Using multiple flashes versus lights

rvietas have you read any of the posts in the studio & lighting forum there are many who have asked the same questions before you. Please have a read of them.

Quote Originally Posted by rvietas
    I'm new to photography and I'm gathering equipment to start doing family photos with my new daughter. So far I have a Rebel XT 350 with a 50mmEF1.8 lens. I've been looking at the possibility of buying a 420ex and/or 580ex flash so that I can use the slave capability. My question is: what is the difference between setting up a studio with mulitple flashes versus setting up lights? And, without spending out of the ballpark, anyone have any ideas as to what would be an appropriate plan for a "startup" home studio?