Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.
    Godot Enthusiast. dinosaur_hotel's Avatar

Simple Lighting Setup.

Hi all,

I'm currently photographing a classic/vintage guitar collection for a client of mine and I need some advice on a simple, but effective lighting set up. They're photos for his website, basic studio shots.

I shoot Nikon and have an SB-800 and SB-600. I'm considering getting 2 external lights and shades.Thing is my background is in photojournalism and I know virtually nothing about studio lighting.

Recommended products for this sort of work?

Thanks,

~ nic
    "There's a Chinese fruit that looks like our house on fire?"
    ~ Miranda July.

Nikon D50
    Nikkor AF-S 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF
    Nikkor AF-S VR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED-IF
    Nikkor AF-D 50 mm f/1.4
    Nikkor AF-D 85 mm f/1.8

Re: Simple Lighting Setup.

Nic,

You already have 2 strobes and unless you are shooting a large group of instruments from any distance they should work out fine.

You'll need some way to mount the flashes (tripods or light stands) and some diffusers (umbrellas or ripstop nylon stretched over PVC pipe).

Can't get any simpler than that. Even lighting at 45 degrees or so on each side should produce exceptable results with minimal shadows.

You could try one light straight on front and back light with the other and gel (color) is for effect. You could also use halogen worklights as accent lights. They produce a nice warm glow that mixes well with strobes (IMHO).

Take a look at strobist.com and the flickr group strobist.com for some ideas. Most of the stuff there is shot with hot shoe flash mounted off camera.

Good luck,

Tim
    My blog - Photography Rulez