Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

newbie, product photography question

I am new to the photography scene and need to take photographs of printed pieces that I printed with a letterpress printing press. The resulting printed areas are recessed in the paper (with ink). My intent with photographing these pieces is to capture the detail of the recessed printing and overall quality of the design and printing.

I have a lightbox that I made with a continuous backdrop and I have several spot lights ready to use with 100W daylight cfl lightbulbs.

I am using:
    Olympus EPL-1
    Olymput MMF-2 Lens Adapter
    Olympus Zuiko Digital 35mm f/3.5 Macro ED Lens

I am learning as much about product photography lighting as possible but am struggling a bit. I have a lot more to learn, clearly, so I thought I'd ask the experts here for advice.

Can someone recommend a good lighting setup to show this depth of impression well? I have found that the best results are when the main light is "low" and at or near level to the printed piece. I'm trying to determine where the lights should be positioned so that I can show the depth of the impression but also have the overall piece lit very well. When I just use one main light at the level of the piece, the impression shows well but it is too dark. When I introduce other lights, I lose the detail of the impression but the piece is lit better.

Thanks for any assistance that you can provide.

Josh
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails newbie, product photography question-letterpress.jpg   newbie, product photography question-picture-1.jpg  

Re: newbie, product photography question