Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Need Help Choosing Lighting

I'm currently shooting people and plants and sometimes people with plants.

When I shoot under the High Pressure Sodium lights that the plants are growing under, no matter what I do, the end results are terrible.

With Flash, the closer items get washed out.
    Without Flash, the light spectrum weirds out and causes the photos to be dark, as if there was no light at all.
    Shooting with the Tungsten setting doesn't even work, makes everything have a yellow haze to it.

Therefore it is my belief that I need to turn off the High Pressure Sodium lights altogether and disable flash and flood the area with photography lighting and shoot normal, no flash.

So I began my search at Samy's Camera and quickly found that if I am not a professional paparazzi, they treat you like an idiot and have absolutely no passion for helping the beginner who needs direction. So I am here trying to do the research myself.

What are my options? are there numerous different kinds of light technology?
    What is the best brand? What will get me by, without going overboard?
    How much should I expect to spend? Can I get a really nice kit for under $420?

I do not want to go the used or rented route as in my experience, I find that my chances of getting everyone organized for the shoot and the lights not working at last minute, are much higher than if i go with brand new equipment, brand name with warranty and support.

I would like a complete kit with carry box and nice sturdy stands, sturdy locks, folding pieces and accessories, easy to setup and break down, easy to move around, no cheap stuff that will only last a few times and/or break if i'm not a brain surgeon.

Thank you so very much for your valuable time and support!

Re: Need Help Choosing Lighting