Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Lighting Question

I am sure this has been asked a million times and I have already tried searching this forum with no luck.

I am just starting out and I do not even have a studio. I am in the very early learning stages. I mostly take pics of my daughter and friends and family. My house does not get very good natural light no matter what time of day and being winter I can not get outside.

So, the only biggest place for me to shoot at is in my kitchen/dining room but I have two ceiling lights that are florecent so they do not work. I really need to work on learning the light and exposure but in the meantime to help me out I was wanting to add light and I do not have the money for studio lights and i know I am not ready for them. I thought I had read somewhere that you could just buy some kind of light like a work light from home depot and then make a softbox around it (I have instructions for the softbox) If this is possible, what kind of lights should I buy Just something simple to give off a natural looking light. I am also going to get some foamcore for a reflector. I would like to spend as little as money as possible until I get the hang of stuff but I just can not do natural light right now I have even tried uping my ISO all the way but then ofcourse I get real grain. I can use my on camera flash but then the photos look to flat. Okay so now I am rambling.

Long story short Can I just buy some regular lights from home depot and use them for now?

Thanks if you made it this far.

Sports photo junkie jorgemonkey's Avatar

Re: Lighting Question

Yes, you can is the answer. I used to use a pair of halogen lights from Sears for product shots. You'll want some sort of softbox.umbrella or something to diffuse the light.