Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Gym Portrait - Advice Please!

Has anyone ever done a portrait shoot in a gym? I got a request to take some photos "like you see in fitness magazine editorials about physical trainers," for use on a website. I'm not a pro. I think I could do a good job with a standard portrait shoot, considering that the client knows I'm not a pro, but the gym environment sounds kind of scary...cramped with bad lighting and randomly placed mirrors. I was just wondering if anyone has ever done anything like that or if you have any general advice on what equipment I might need? Do you think it's possible to do with just a flash and some reflectors? I don't own any studio equipment.

Thanks a bunch!

Paul

Re: Gym Portrait - Advice Please!

Don't use flash. Try a fast short telephoto and natural light. Shoot in RAW mode if you are using a digital camera, and set a manual white balance if the lighting is flaky. If it were me, I would take a 28 1.8, a 50 1.4 and an 85 1.8 for various shots. Good luck!