Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Thread: Flash Placement

Flash Placement

I work for a counter top fabricator and we recently purchased some software that allows us to lay our CAD work over a digital picture to see what a kitchen layout will look like.

The problem that I'm having is that I can't seem to get even enough lighting over then entire slab of granite. We're using a Rebel XT camera and have 4 Alien Bee 320WS B800 flash units with shoot through umbrellas.

The camera is 16' back and 6'8" up from the floor. Each flash is about 4' out from the edge of the table and about 5' in front of it.

Is there some kind of suggested angle that the flash is supposed to be in relation to the face that would help remove the hot spots on the edges?

Re: Flash Placement

Hey Brian, I'm no studio expert but I can tell you that your not going to get much result shooting "through" those umbrellas as you have the black covers on the insides. Ahh, correction. . .it seems from your pictures that the black covers are surrounding the head and used to keep light from bouncing back.
    I would think that for a large countertop subject you would be best using two large (60 ") bounce umbrellas, one on each side.
    Using what you have, I think bouncing as opposed to shooting through might avoid the "hotspot" that can occur in the center of the shoot thru umbrella. Place them as you have them, but place the black covers on the outside of the umbrellas and turn the mounts around so that the light bounces off the insides of the umbrellas and to your subject.
    As I said, no expert here and maybe someone with more experience will jump in here . . .
    please do not edit and repost my photos

gary

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

A myriad of problems...

Quote Originally Posted by Brian_Stone