Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Question Documenting a 50th Birthday Party

I've been asked by some friends to take photos at a 50th birthday party. These people have seen my photos, but they know I don't typically photograph this kind of thing. It would just be a favor; no money exchanged and no professional put out of work. I haven't answered yet, mostly because I'm nervous, but I'd like to do it as a learning experience. I have two main concerns.

First, I'm typically kind of shy about sticking my camera in peoples' faces, so if anyone has any tips on how to interact with strangers as a photographer, I'm listening. :blush2:

Second, what should I do about lighting, if I can't bounce my flash? I'm fairly comfortable bouncing the flash, but if the ceiling is too high or otherwise prevents me from bouncing the flash, what are my other options? The venue is a cheesy bar with all kinds of junk on the walls, so no bouncing off the walls either. Would you recommend just using direct flash and try to balance the ambient (neon beer signs )? I figure I'll drag the shutter for some blurred effects once in a while, but I don't know what else I can do.

I'll be using a D70s with an SB-600. I have colored gels so I can balance with tungsten lights, but I don't have any kind of diffuser. I don't have much time either. It's this Saturday. I'm planning to go buy a Stofen Omni-bounce at my local shop, because I assume it will help with fill and catchlights, when I bounce the flash.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Paul

Re: Documenting a 50th Birthday Party