Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Bar Style Lighting

I am going to be shooting a short film in the near future that is set in a bar. the mood the director is after is a dim seedy type place. I am guessing that I will need extreme contrast ratios and pools of focused soft light (boy is that a contradiction in terms) does anyone have any suggestions in terms of equipment or techniques. I will be started to shoot some tests soon but at the moment this is a almost no budget film (although we will be applying for funding)

Re: Bar Style Lighting

Just wanted to say hello to the community... (Hello) my name user name is gano, and I've been working for the last 10 years for two studios shooting weddings, yearbook portraits, sports, and events. My passion is sports, and nature photography, I also love to shoot musicians doing there thing. Looking to open my own studio one day soon. I want to get into shooting bands in studio and getting creative doing it, not your typical portrait stuff. Anyway I just wanted to introduce myself to everyone.
    gano

Hi Gano - you could also post an introduction in Viewfinder where almost everyone on this site will see it. Welcome!

Sorry, I can't be much help with the lighting here...

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Yes, welcome gano. I agree with Steve that few members will read your post buried here. You need to start a new thread in Viewfinder... :thumbsup:

Sorry skyman, but I too am at a loss on how to light for a movie. Small track fixtures might provide the lighting you describe, but I have no idea how it would look for a film.

Maybe folks in the Vid Forum could help...:idea:
    "Riding along on a carousel...tryin' to catch up to you..."

-Steve
    Studio & Lighting - Photography As Art Forum Moderator