Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Question Advice on Lens & Lighting for indoor party – Canon 350D

Hi,

I am an intermediate photographer but have very little experience with shooting indoor parties. I am going to be at a company event and, like the young ambitious intermediate photographer I am, I volunteered to take candid photographs at the event.

I currently do not have an external flash for my Canon 350D and am looking at either buying one or renting one (I usually don’t shoot indoors that often).

As for lenses, I typically use a Sigma 18-200 f3.5/4.5 as my walk-around lens and I have a Sigma 30mm f/1.4 that I use for portraits and other things…

Because I’m not seasoned in indoor party settings (it will be in a ballroom with the room lights on), I’m reaching out to anyone that has tips, tricks or suggestions that would help me make the best of my event.

Thanks in advance-

~Eric

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

Re: Advice on Lens & Lighting for indoor party – Canon 350D

Flash light can be harsh, and rather unflattering.
    A ballroom's going to have a high ceiling, so bounce flash is paorably out.
    I'd suggest at least getting an L-bracket, possibly with a handgrip on so you can stady the camera, and put the flash on that with a remote lead.
    Separating the flash and lens will also help reduce red-eye.

I'm surprised at 30mm for portraits, I'd say that's a bit wide angle (I'd prefer 50mm or 80mm).
    I'd go with the 18-200 for versatility at the expense of light, as long as you have flash.
    Otherwise the 30mm f1.4 would be the best bet for candid with available light.
    PAul

Scroll down to the Sports Forum and post your sports pictures !

Somewhere north of US 10 and east of Wausau, WI, USA