Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Picking the right lens for action shots

I am new to the world of photoghraphy as a SLR owner. I purchased a D80 in January and am still tring to play with all that it has to offer. I was nominated the team photoghrapher for my daughters competitive U11 girls soccer team. (No pressure there!) I would like to purchase a new lens and I am little confused as to what would suit my needs the best. I have a 55-200mm f4.5-6 and I don't feel I am getting the best shots. I am considering renting a lens for our next tournament and I am looking at the 75-300mm f4-5.6. Any thoughts on the matter would be appreciated.
    Andrea

The one - The only

Re: Picking the right lens for action shots

What part about your shots don't you like? Are you too far from the subject or are the shots not crisp?

A very popular lens for sports is the 70-200 range. In Nikon-land it translates to a 70-200 f2.8 with or without VR (I think that's what it's called - I'm from Canon-land). Canon also offers less costly 70-200 f4 - I'm not sure that Nikon does.

Something you also may want to do is look for good shape used lenses on photography forums. Good deals can often be had and nice glass can go for as much as 50% off.
    Dave
    My SportsShooter Page
    My Gallery

Canon Digital Gear

In Nikon land it's VR and in Canon Land it's IS (Image Stabilization). For Nikon it's an 80-200 and Canon 70-200.
    If you are shooting in daylight a 28-300 or similar is a great lens to cover action close or far off. The f3.5 lens is very sharp too, but pricy at around $2800 new and around $1700 used. It's not light and will take some practice to get used to. If shooting at night or low light use a 70-200 f2.8 the best sports lens made.

JS
    Canon 1D
    Canon 1D MK II N