Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Thread: Sony Struggle

Sony Struggle

I purchased my A100 immediately after they became available. I am a professional videographer and Sony has always been at the top of the heap when it comes to video production so when I learned that Sony was coming out with a DSLR that had all the features that I was looking for it seemed like a natural decision to go with Sony. I paid about a thousand dollars for my A100 with kit lense and was satisfied with it, I stopped all camera research for a while. A couple of months ago I wanted to see if there were any new accessories available, when I searched Sony DSLR on Ebay I was very surprised to see an entire line of new Sony DSLR's with new features and bells and whistles that would perhaps make my life easier and you can imagine my shock when I saw that they were a fraction of the price that I had paid for my lowly A100.

Is anyone else in the same boat as me, and if so should I be bothered by this?

Re: Sony Struggle

That's just how it goes with digital cameras and electronics these days. It's the same with computers. You can't get upset about. My first digital SLR cost over $5000 and now I'm getting better quality from cameras that cost well under $1000. Figure out what you need, spend what you can, and don't worry about new stuff until you see that it will really improve the work you do. Waiting for prices to come down or fretting over newer, cheaper models is a losing battle.
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!