Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

SONY NEX - 3 and NEX - 5 for closeups ?

QUESTION:
    I am not a pro photographer.
    I am buying a camera for one purpose only - to go to museums and libraries and take very highly detailed closeup photos of photos in old books, and images in old newspapers. I also want to take detailed closeups of woodwind instruments such as clarinets, oboes and flutes.This is all I need a camera for. I need very high resolution closeup shots. Museums and Libraries are often dark so I need superb low light capability - this is critical.

I do not want a bulky SLR camera since I need something light to carry into a museum.

I have no interest in video, 3D, landscape shots, portraits,action photos, etc.

I have a SONY credit card and am interested in the interchangeable lens SONY NEX - 3 and the NEX - 5.

Can anyone tell me about these? Does anyone have experience with these? Can another camera by SONY be recommended? What lens(es) should I buy?

Thank you

andy jackson

Re: SONY NEX - 3 and NEX - 5 for closeups ?

Sony has a 100mm f/2.8 macro lens that is ideal for your use, the 50mm f/2.8 macro would also suffice, but the focal range is a little less practical. The 50mm is also a little smaller. The NEX would require an A-Mount adapter to work with that properly, whereas the SLT A-33/A-55 would not. The SLT's are slightly bigger, but they are still very small by DSLR standards. Plus, once you have the A-Mount on the NEX, it wouldn't be all that much smaller than the SLT.