Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Sony H2 does not autofocus...

well i was using my camera today and im not sure if i moved a setting but it does not auto focus when i press the button half way... can anyone help me out to try to fix this problem, i am going on vacations and 3 days and i hope this is just sumthing simple... thankz!!

Re: Sony H2 does not autofocus...

anyone????????

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Sorry. I have no experience with that camera nor have I heard of that problem. I would contact Sony.

Your camera might be in manual focus mode. There is a small button next to the shutter, labeled focus. Set the camera to M mode, press that button several times - this will cycle through the focusing options. I prefer to use spot focus, which is a tiny bracket in the very center of the screen that you can move with the directional pad. I usually just leave it set in the center, but this lets me focus on a very small percentage of the frame to get perfect focus on important things like eyes.

another thing to check is the autofocus mode. go to setup>AF mode and set it to monitor, this is the best setting for everyday use. Continuous is good for moving objects, and off is good for extra battery life - but I don't think that most shooters will gain any benefit from any setting other than monitor.