Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

need help with lights please a100

Hi guys, i need some help please. I have a sony a100 body with some not too expensive lenses and I am really an amateur hobby photographer. For me it is time to learn lighting and I'll try to shoot some portrait photos and product photos (not for sale). I learn with practice (can not learn only from books), but i am having some hardware knowledge issues. My hubby bought me 2 HV36 flashes from ebay last week (have not got them yet), and I bought a kit from ebay for studio lighting but know I am in sort of a panic that I won't be able to use them... The kit is http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ht_4726wt_1161. And now I am in a panic that i should not have ordered it because I won't be able to connect and use them together Or can I buy some adapter or wireless trigger or remote or something that will allow me to use them? I was all excited about this and now...
    please help, and let me know how I can do this...
    thanks,
    Maria

Re: need help with lights please a100

Can you give us a link to the flash? Is it this one?

http://www.dyxum.com/flashes/detail.asp?IDFlash=183

It appears that the ebay system is triggered from a sync port which I don't think the A100 has. You can get one for <$20 like this:

http://www.flashzebra.com/products/0131/index.shtml

I'm not sure how the sync adapter is going to affect the flash (especially since I don't even know what the flash is yet).

360 Watts isn't very much light, but you will have the stands and umbrellas.

TF
    -----------------