Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

First post- Hello, and a few Q's about my new A-550

Hi forum.

I'm not an artistic photographer, but my work involves me taking photos. For my purposes, a compact digital cam has been more than adequate. I have had a few, but my favourite - for reasons I'll explain in a minute - is my current companion, a trusty old (5.0 MP) Kodak VS570,

I received a very nice Christmas present this year - a Sony A-550 DSLR with a zoom lens kit. This present came completely out of left-field. Obviously I'm grateful that someone would give me something like this, but I had not asked for a DSLR, and probably would never have bought one on my own. I used to enjoy taking photos for fun, but it's been years since I have. I think this camera was given to me to inspire me to take up the hobby again. And I would like to do that. We'll see. I just don't know if this camera will suit my needs.

I don't want to offend the gift-giver, so perhaps you can help me.