Sony and Konica Minolta Cameras Forum

Sony Digital Cameras Forum This forum is for discussing Sony digital cameras and the Sony Alpha DSLR and Konica Minolta Maxxum / Dynax SLR systems.
Sony Digital SLR Reviews >>
Sony Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Sony 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
All Sony Photography Product Reviews >>
Sony Digital Cameras & History Page >>

Best settings for point and shoot

We've purchased the Konica Minolta Dimage A200 camera about a year or two ago. I'm not an expert on photography but since I'm the IT in this department I'm stock with showing my colleagues how to point and shoot.

First of, I've recieved complaints that this camera is no good compare to the $90 or so camera from Wal-mart. Those cameras can do point and shoot without having to fiddle with the shutter speed, flash, aperture and so on. How do I answer these kinds of questions? Besides the fact that this camera can shoot in RAW data, what's the advantages of this camera compare to any cheap camera like less than $200?

Second, what is the best mode or settings for me to tell my collegues to set this camera in? Most of the times they will not have the time to adjust anything on the camera like shutter speed, white balance and so on. All they wanted to do is take out the camera, point, and shoot. The most complaints I've got is that the picture they took with this camea turned out to be blurry or fuzzy. If I can show them how to eliminate this problem without fooling around with F-stop, flash, shutter speed, and aperture everytime they try to take a picture, I think they'll be happy. The problem is they don't want to spend the extra 2 or 3 minutes to adjust their camera and they are also a group of non-technical folks.

I hope someone can help me help them.

Thanks so much!

Re: Best settings for point and shoot