Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Thread: A few bb shots

A few bb shots

Here are a few basketball shots from this week. The gym was much darker than our home gym. It's funny. A few months ago I would have loved these shots but now I'm aware of so much more like cutting feet off and the horizon not being straight etc. I'm learning so much here. Any comments are greatly appreciated. Keep in mind that I'm not a professional but just a mom but I do like the bad with good as that is how I learn. Thanks!

Donna
    Nikon D50
    Nikon 85mm f1.8
    Attached Images Attached Images      

Re: A few bb shots

Overall you got a lot better shots than what I was able to last night, the refs were to worried about calling traveling about every time down the floor. I really like the shot on the very top and the one with the girls on the floor. Seems like your White Balance is a little off, but that can be fixed with ps, auto white on my D50 doesn't seem to be very good a lot of times I'll use the WB menu and look at the lights in the gym or area and use a preset they seem to be very good.
    You are shooting with the same camera I am, I think the D50 takes amazing shots for all it is, I do wish I had your lens I need fast glass like that.
    Chris Johnson
    Nikon Samurai # 30 chrisjohnsonpic.com
    Nikon D2Xs, Nikon D50, SB-800, AF Nikkor 80-200 D ED f2.8, AF Nikkor 50 D f1.8, AF Nikkor 18-55 G ED f5.6

The first thing I noticed was the WB, once you set it you need to make sure you change it if you change location too.

JS
    Canon 1D
    Canon 1D MK II N
    Canon 70-200mm USM IS f2.8
    Canon 200mm f1.8 USM
    Canon 300mm f2.8 USM IS
    Canon 28-300mm USM IS f3.5-5.6
    Canon 50mm f1.8
    Vivitar 19-35mm f3.5-5.6