Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Shooting in a Dungeon

These were from the Windy City Invite on Fri. Kids from around the midwest and further for a gymnastics meet. These boys are 10-11 years old.

The conditions were some of the best I have seen for gymnastics as it was at the Univ of Ill Chicago gym, but still no flash is allowed and lighting was hit and miss.

Most were shot at 1000 to 1600 ISO and shutters of 1/200 or 1/250.

Venue was better than a cave, but still a dungeon...

Critique is appreciated... Especially about PS.. I am still learning CS3 .

Thanks..
    Phil
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Shooting in a Dungeon-1081.jpg   Shooting in a Dungeon-1351.jpg   Shooting in a Dungeon-11240.jpg  
    Support those who protect us:
    www.ODMP.org

Re: Shooting in a Dungeon

very good looking for such a high ISO, I'm not much for gymnastics, top and bottom shots are the best in my book I really like the guy flipping in the top one. Photoshop looks good, how dark where the originals?
    Chris Johnson
    Nikon Samurai # 30 chrisjohnsonpic.com
    Nikon D2Xs, Nikon D50, SB-800, AF Nikkor 80-200 D ED f2.8, AF Nikkor 50 D f1.8, AF Nikkor 18-55 G ED f5.6

They look pretty good to me. The only PP comment I would have is to run them through a Unsharp Mask to sharpen up the edges a bit and they should look good. I find that (un)available light shots usually benefit from a bit of sharpening.
    Daniel - PixElite Photography

http://www.pixelitephotography.com
    http://www.actionphototips.com
    http://www.maxpreps.com
    I use Nikon Professional gear.

Not-so-recent Nikon Convert livin4lax09's Avatar

ci,