Photography Software & Post Processing Forum

Photography Software Forum Discuss Adobe Photoshop, RAW conversion, photography software, and anything related to digital photo processing. Forum moderator is GB1.
Digital Photography Software Reviews >>
Write A Review >>
Adobe Photography Software User Reviews >>
Photography Software News & Articles >>

Muted tones in Photoshop

Something increasingly popular in wedding and portrait photography are photo's with muted tones. Below is a blog with some examples.

The Nichols Blog » We’re a husband + wife photo team located in Austin, Texas

do you know how this look is accomplished? I assume its through photoshop and I am new to photoshop. do you all know how to do that? I'd like to experiment some but not sure where to begin.

GB1

Re: Muted tones in Photoshop

The colors are muted, but it's more than desaturation I think: looks like selective colors are desaturated more than others, and/or that certain colors are shifted. Can't tell for sure, but it may be an attempt to create an 'old film' look, just not sure which film.

G
    Photography Software and Post Processing Forum Moderator. Visit here!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Feel free to edit and repost my photos as part of your critique.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Site

n8

It looks like a cross processing trick to me. Possibly done through a plugin (I use nik color efex for the same thing) or action judging by the consistency. I would use curves to do it in Photoshop.
    mostly Nikon gear

Feel free to edit my images for critique, just let me know what you did.