Photography Software & Post Processing Forum

Photography Software Forum Discuss Adobe Photoshop, RAW conversion, photography software, and anything related to digital photo processing. Forum moderator is GB1.
Digital Photography Software Reviews >>
Write A Review >>
Adobe Photography Software User Reviews >>
Photography Software News & Articles >>

editing software "upgrade" questions

So, first I'll make sure it's clear that I'm just an amateur photographer. I could probably get by with something like Elements if I really needed to. That being said, I've enjoyed learning to use the photoshop CS3 (actually web suite cs3 with PS extended) that I bought 3 years ago on education discount. I didn't really start learning it until last year with the help of a Kelby book and actually learned about layers and stuff. Now, I'm about a week away from finishing the school program I've been in and so education discounts are going to go bye bye. Right now I can get the CS5 version for $180.

The thing is, I'm not sure that I really necessarily need all the new stuff in CS5 or that CS4 had. I keep hearing about lightroom and how it's kind of like Bridge but with some editing built in. I'm wondering if instead I should look at Lightroom to get newer features like the new camera raw, etc. The reason I'm thinking about this is that within the next week dropping $180 on photoshop for a few extra features is a bit rough, but full retail on lightroom in a few months would be just fine.