Photo Project Forum

A monthly, community-driven photography assignment. This forum is moderated by Didache and Frog.

Photo Project Gallery >>

Featured Photo
Photo by Tyson L. Sparks

by Tyson L. Sparks
Featured Photo Archive >>

Introducing myself

Hi all .. as regulars here probably know by now, Frog and myself have been appointed co-moderators of this particular little corner of PR. So I thought I would introduce myself properly, as all polite people do

But first, a word of appreciation to Alison who has kept the project forum afloat and who will be a hard act to follow. Thanks Alison!

As for me ....

I am something of a mongrel! Due to my dad’s profession, I spent most of my early life moving from country to country, including extended periods in Canada, California, England and Northern Ireland. While I was at university in Ireland I bought my first “proper” camera – a Mamiya MSX500 SLR – in 1974. When I graduated in ’76 I bought a Canon FTbn of happy memory. I also owned a wonderful Pentax SP1000 (an economy version of the famous Spotmatic) – I have had a soft spot for Pentax cameras ever since and currently use a Pentax K10D with an assortment of lenses.

Marriage in 1979 and four kids following put photography very much on hold, although I did continue to take snaps of family occasions, Christmas, holidays, and so on.

About five years ago, when the kids had pretty well grown up, I decided to take it all much more seriously. So I joined a local camera club filled with the most encouraging people you could imagine. That is my photographic home, and I owe it a great deal, not least the competition side of club life. In a 24/7 kind of job like mine (church minister) it is vital to have something which is completely unconnected with what I do for a living, and which gets me away from the phone. Photography provides this escape for me.