Digital Imaging and Computers Forum

Digital Imaging and Computers Forum This forum is for discussing digital photo processing, including RAW image conversion, Photoshop techniques, digital photography workflow, digital image management, and anything else related to digital image processing.
Digital Photography Software Guide >>
Read and Write Photography Software Reviews >>
Read and Write Photo Printer Reviews >>
Computer Reviews >>

where can I put photos and open HD space

I'm new to the digital photography world but I've caught the bug big-time. I'm absolutely loving it, but don't know what I'm doing most of the time (a true learning experience every time I take a shot). But now I have a bunch of pics on my hard drive (I do have a photo program, but still, they're on my hard drive) and eventually will reach a crucial level. What can I do with them? Is there some kind of peripheral I can add to my box to hold pics? I would rather not download them to a disk because I use them often for different things so I'd like to have them easily accessible. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Re: where can I put photos and open HD space

Best thing is get an external drive that hooks up through either USB 2 or Firewire and use that to store your images. You then keep them off of your system and on their own drive that is removable and portable if you need as well. The other thing to do is back them up to DVD's as well for protection of the image. Most people do at least that as a minimum. Some actually do it to three seperate storage devices, like another Hard Drive, two or more DVD's or CD's and then store those in different places for added protection. You could also look at tape storage as well, although that is relatively expensive compared to an external Hard Drive, per meg although Tape is relative a safe way of going over the Hard Drive and DVD/CD way of backing up.