Digital Imaging and Computers Forum

Digital Imaging and Computers Forum This forum is for discussing digital photo processing, including RAW image conversion, Photoshop techniques, digital photography workflow, digital image management, and anything else related to digital image processing.
Digital Photography Software Guide >>
Read and Write Photography Software Reviews >>
Read and Write Photo Printer Reviews >>
Computer Reviews >>

Using Adobe for editing?

I'm new to photography (just started today

I have adobe photoshop 6, but are there any additional add-ons that I need to use with photoshop for picture editing? What software is everyone using?

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: Using Adobe for editing?

Welcome to the Forum Scuby. I think the majority of the folks around hear are using Photoshop for their editing. There are a lot of other programs out there, but PS seems to be the most popular. Are you as new to photoshop as you are to photography? There are tons of plug-ins that you can get for PS, but I wouldn't mess with any of them since you are just starting with photography. The photoshop learning curve is pretty big, and I would focus on the basics before venturing into new add ons and things like that. The best add on you can get is a good photoshop book. Steve, aka Another View, has refferanced some very good photoshop books in other threads, but I don't remember what they were. Perhaps he will post them again for us.
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

thanks for the reply. I am actually very familiar with Photoshop. (I work in the technology field) do you have any suggestions for plugins?

Thanks!!

Mike

Quote Originally Posted by scuby
    I'm new to photography (just started today