Digital Imaging and Computers Forum

Digital Imaging and Computers Forum This forum is for discussing digital photo processing, including RAW image conversion, Photoshop techniques, digital photography workflow, digital image management, and anything else related to digital image processing.
Digital Photography Software Guide >>
Read and Write Photography Software Reviews >>
Read and Write Photo Printer Reviews >>
Computer Reviews >>

MacBook choices...

I'm looking at switching to Mac and a portable would be much more useful for me. Couple questions. I'm not a professional photographer and only do it as a hobby, but I want to buy the "right" one...

The basic MacBook has 1g RAM and a 2ghz Core 2 Duo processor. I plan to eventually get Nikon Capture NX and may load my version of Photoshop** on it. I realize the display is small but if that's much of a problem I could get a larger flat screen for it and still have the portability of the 13" screen.

**Photoshop... I have the original CS in the Creative Suite, so I'd have to upgrade all of that to get CS3. I'd almost be better off to just buy a new copy but I need to talk to them about it (thinking long term, a couple of upgrades would make this the cheaper route). OTOH, PSE may do what I need and would be used after NX (as needed) anyway (version 4 for Mac, and 5 for Windows?). Or, I could run Boot Camp or Parallels and keep my version of Photoshop, only booting XP when I need it (can I use my license from my current machine?).

Maybe Lightroom or Aperture is a better idea... I'd like something that can handle my old Fuji S2 files as well as the files made by the new camera when I get it (Fuji bit the dust). And at this point I guess I can't rule out a Canon system either in which case I obviously wouldn't get NX, but that's getting too far ahead right now...