Digital Imaging and Computers Forum

Digital Imaging and Computers Forum This forum is for discussing digital photo processing, including RAW image conversion, Photoshop techniques, digital photography workflow, digital image management, and anything else related to digital image processing.
Digital Photography Software Guide >>
Read and Write Photography Software Reviews >>
Read and Write Photo Printer Reviews >>
Computer Reviews >>

High Quality Photography Printers

Greetings:

Can anyone suggest a high quality photographic printer that would satisfy my needs? I am not a professional photographer however; I do appreciate high quality photos and am interested in learning what is working well with those of you who print high end photos. I probably will not exceed 13" width but if I can purchase one within my means, I would move up to 17" width. I plan to spend about 1000.00 USD on the top end. Is it better to go with a used, used rebuilt. Or brand new for that price range, or am I just barking up the wrong tree?

Silvio

Re: High Quality Photography Printers

I would highly recommend going with Epson as they have been doing things right for so long and is considered to be the leader in the field.
    I had started with the Canon 9900 and found that it did not meet my desires for print longevity or the flexiblity to print on many different type of media. I personally like to print on fine art papers ( paper choices is a whole other dialogue) and could not with the 9900 and so I sold it and got the epson 2200. That was an excellent printer that had been around for a very long time and used by pros and enthusiasts. The only problem with that printer was black and white printing. With only two black inks, it needed to use some color inks to create various shades of grays and this caused the prints to appear to have color shifts. The technical term for it is metamerism. the b&w print would seem to have a color cast depending on what light source you viewed it under.