Digital Imaging and Computers Forum

Digital Imaging and Computers Forum This forum is for discussing digital photo processing, including RAW image conversion, Photoshop techniques, digital photography workflow, digital image management, and anything else related to digital image processing.
Digital Photography Software Guide >>
Read and Write Photography Software Reviews >>
Read and Write Photo Printer Reviews >>
Computer Reviews >>

Good Editing Software for Photos ????

I am currently using the free version of picasso and was wanting to upgrade to a better editing/cropping software program.....

I am a beginner and would like some advice.

I have a nikon D80 with a 18-135mm DX-AFS and a 80-200mm f/2.8 ED-D lens.

Thanks

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

Re: Good Editing Software for Photos ????

Photoshop, probably elements (the cheaper version) is a good starting point without spending too much money on Photoshop Creative suite.
    Also Paint Shop Pro has been around for quite a while, enough to have plenty of tutorials and to be reliable.

I'd also recommend Lightroom, though it's not an editing program. It has basic editing like cropping, red eye, spot healing, but it also manages your photos, indexes them, allows you to use keywords and rankings to find your photos again.
    Also while editing the original file is preserved, so you can always to back and start again like going back to your negative - you don't lose the original image.
    I swear by it (and at it) and currently have 269000 files in 3000 folders indexed in Lightroom - about 1.2 Terabytes of data.
    But I need Photoshop as well with it for the complicated editing that Lightroom doesn't do.

If you're a Mac user, take a look at Aperture as well as Lightroom. I liked it a lot, but not enough to buy a Mac specially to run it. However if Microsoft doesn't fix Vista and insists on pushing manufacturers to sell it with every new PC - then I may well have to move to Mac.