Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Yet another from the graveyard, and a bit of an intro :)

Hi, all!

First of all, no, everything I do I don't make Sepia...it just is seeming to work well with these shots I took at a local graveyard.

I'm Rick in Indianapolis, I've dabbled in photography for years but only recently have begun trying to improve what I do...to get away from "snapshots" and be creative.

I'm a musician/storyteller by trade, so this is simply an extension of my artistic side. ;)

So, here's this one....comments?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Yet another from the graveyard, and a bit of an intro :)-womansizedforscreen20001.jpg  

Re: Yet another from the graveyard, and a bit of an intro :)

Again, as with the others, very nice tonal range -- really brings out the detail. Good eye movement going up the stairs, leading to the door. Tough composition because you included so many elements but, for me, it works. Improvements? the sky needs more detail! ... at time of exposure, you could have used one of many filters available to darken the sky. Otherwise, you could darken the sky with the Burn tool in Photoshop. And there are many other PS techniques for altering exposure, contrast or vignetting. Also, the horizon needs to be levelled. Otherwise, very nice shot. Welcome Indy Rick. (I hope you don't spend all your time in cemeteries

Thanks, Freedom, and, no I don't spend all my time in cemeteries. Or do I? LOL.