Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

"shot from the hip"

Hello, Happy Thanksgiving to all.
    Let me hear your suggestions for these shots. I'm still learning???
    The dead tree was full zoom one at F 4.5 the other at F 8 shutter was auto don't know speeds.

The pine cone was after missing little birds so thought I'd shoot the cone before it dropped off.

If I decide to keep the pine cone, I'll remove the blurred tree top in the bottom right.

Thanks for all CCC. Norris

"shot from the hip"-tree-hole-2.jpg

"shot from the hip"-tree-hole.jpg

"shot from the hip"-pine-cone.jpg

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: "shot from the hip"

The second shot of the tree is better because of the richer blue.
    The problem is that you have a vertically dead center stick which leads off frame at both top and bottom. There is nothing there to give the eye anything to look at other than the tree or stick and it could be either to the viewer. It needs some fore or background to give it a relationship to its environment.
    The pinecone is also dead center. With a different angle and better light it might make an interesting shot.
    Both suffer from the light conditions.
    I can tell that you are seeing things worth shooting so don't be discouraged. Look at the composition of shots you like, find ways to lead the viewers eye into what you want them to see, and try to get your shots during better lighting conditions.
    Keep shooting!
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM