Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Ships, sunsets, bridge

This is my first post and I am just a beginner. Please let me know what you think.

For the first photo, I lightened the ships in photoshop a little bit but that is the only alteration. I would also appreciate any suggestions on how to capture the bright redness of the sunset but not make everything that is closer to me very dark.

The second photo has not been edited.

Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Ships, sunsets, bridge-img_8102.jpg   Ships, sunsets, bridge-img_8099.jpg  

MB1

Re: Ships, sunsets, bridge

For starters both photos seem unsharp so something is going on there with your camera or lens.

2 ways I know of to get correct exposure for a light sky/dark foreground;
    I use a split neutral density filter (2 or 3 stops is going to work best for sunrise/sunset). The other way is to merge 2 images in photoshop and I don't know anything about that.

I can see the lack of sharpness.

Would the lack of sharpness be because of the camera settings?

I took these with a Canon EOS Rebel XT (8mp)

1/10 sec shutter speed
    5.6F aperature
    100 ISO
    18-55 mm kit lense
    RAW image quality.