Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Newbie with contrast problem

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to photography. I just got my SLR for school, and I have no idea how to use it so far, other than point and shoot. I know there's lots wrong with this pic, but I'll work on one problem at a time. In this photo, the left eye and the nose are lost in the black hair/skin. Is there a way to correct that without over-lightening the white next to it?

Thanks!

jbf

Re: Newbie with contrast problem

Quote Originally Posted by asdf.0
    In this photo, the left eye and the nose are lost in the black hair/skin. Is there a way to correct that without over-lightening the white next to it?
    It's easy to lighten images in post processing and apply different amounts of lightening to different parts of the the image. I don't know what editing software you have so I can't give you a procedure. There are limits however. I doubt there is enough detail in the dark areas of this image to get much out of lightening it other than noise.

Have fun the new hobby,
    jbf

I agree with jbf.

While it's possible to lighten dark areas without further lightning the lights, I've checked this image and it will be really tough to bring any details out of the eye without making it a very noisy, sloppy image.

If you're using Photoshop CS and upward, there's a nice little feature called, shadow/highlights, under (Image -> Adjustments). That filter can lighten up the shadows without lightning the highlights or darken the higlights without messing with the shadows.