Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Smile Insect pictures...

Hi,

Here are three insect pictures that I have taken during the last few weeks. (I’m still learning).:thumbsup:

I would very much appreciate opinions on them, please be honest.
    Last edited by A.M.D.A.; 09-17-2008 at 04:56 PM.

Re: Insect pictures...

I like your compositions. Good eye and feel for a pleasing balance The first two shots I find the subjects to be on the soft side. These should be sharp. The first shot of the bee in the flower looks as though your focus was at the front of the flower and so the bee is actually a bit off the focus point. Backgrounds are nicely blurred and non distracting. Everything here looks very good, aside from the soft focus of the first two images.
    Good work
    please do not edit and repost my photos

gary

Quote Originally Posted by gahspidy
    I like your compositions. Good eye and feel for a pleasing balance The first two shots I find the subjects to be on the soft side. These should be sharp. The first shot of the bee in the flower looks as though your focus was at the front of the flower and so the bee is actually a bit off the focus point. Backgrounds are nicely blurred and non distracting. Everything here looks very good, aside from the soft focus of the first two images.
    Good work
    Thanks for replying gahspidy,

I think that the first two pictures are soft-looking because I used close-up filters, I didn't use a close-up filter for the wasp.