Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

First Railroad Shot---your thoughts?

Ok, ideally this set of tracks would be heading around a bend to add a sense of undetermined destination. The shot being what it is though, and it is my first attempt, any recommendations for future shots of this nature, other than finding some that go around a bend? I tried to avoid a straight down the middle shot, so I took a little off the left side. Any ideas?
    John

Photonerd

Re: First Railroad Shot---your thoughts?

i know exactly what you mean, it's hard to find anything new to do with these type of shots. i posted an example of one shot that I took a while ago during my trip to death valley, where I tried to do the "bend" idea. i dunno if it worked too well, plus it was a road and not train tracks, but I set the road a little off to the right so as to get a bit more of the background. not sure if this was effective, but it's an idea. Of course, I like B&W, especially for railroad tracks, you could try that.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails First Railroad Shot---your thoughts?-bend.jpg  
    Feel free to edit/re-post my photos as you like

Nikon Samurai #28

I agree, B/W is the way to go with railroad tracks. I posted one a while back.
    Summer Katz
    Katz Photography
    www.katzphotography.net

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Yep, a cliche...

Quote Originally Posted by swmdrayfan
    Any ideas?...