Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Thread: B&W Beginner

B&W Beginner

Hi everyone,

I'm new to B&W (and low-light photography) and would appreciate your constructive criticism and feedback. This shot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge was taken 2-weeks ago with a Toyo-View 45CF field camera using Fugi Acros.

Thanks,

Thomas
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails B&W Beginner-bay-bridge2.jpg  
    Last edited by mtbbrian; 03-13-2004 at 09:41 AM. Reason: UN Making it the "Featured Photo" for 1 March...

I think you have a classic and beautiful shot. I feel like the conrtast is a bit heavy, but after all it is a night shot. The contrast definitely works with the image. Only two things I would suggest: 1. When printing, try to burn in the area on the lower right side, the lights coming from the buildings on land. I think they serve only to distract you from bridge itself. and 2. on a very very minor point, I would suggest cropping out the left portion that is just black. Otherwise, it's great!

Looks good

Quote Originally Posted by tgtaylor7
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to B&W (and low-light photography) and would appreciate your constructive criticism and feedback. This shot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge was taken 2-weeks ago with a Toyo-View 45CF field camera using Fugi Acros.

Thanks,

Thomas

Thomas: