Kentucky Wildlife

Photo Contest Scams

Recently I decided to enter some photo contests that offered substantial cash prizes and am finding out that at least some of these are scams. For instance, it didn’t take me very long to be chosen as “one of the top photo laureates of 2009.”
    I entered because they offered a grand prize of $6,500. I just received an ego stroking email that explained that because I was chosen for this prestigious national honor, my image would be included in an anthology of “The Best Of 2009 Photography,” supposedly a coffee table, hard cover book that I could buy for $69, and if I bought this book, I would then be entered into the $6,500 contest.
    I don’t remember any of this stuff when I entered, and quickly figured out it was a scam. I tried to reply to this message stating that I was a professional photographer and that I don’t pay publishers to publish my work–publishers pay me, and that to use my photo was a violation of my copyright. I tried to reply to the message. It came back. I tried to reply to the link on the email. It came back. I went to their website and tried to reply there, but couldn’t. The only way you can reply to this message is to send them your credit card number. No telling what they would do with that.
    I’ve had my images stolen and used elsewhere on the internet, but this kind of thing bothers me more than anything, because it takes advantage of beginners who let the excitement of “being published” override the warning signs.
    I doubt they even publish “The Best Of 2009 Photography.” It’s just January, after all. There’s clues to a scam all over this thing, and I’m embarrassed that I didn’t see any of them up front. But I’m swallowing my pride to share this with all the good, yet unpublished photographers out there who might be cheated out of who-know-how-much money before these criminals disappear into cyberspace.
    Be very careful of internet photo contests.

Re: Photo Contest Scams