Thread: Free Service!!

Lightbulb Free Service!!

I need some opinions

Do you guys think that it's a good idea if I offer my free service so that I could just gain the experience?

I'm still new to the photography world. Well I have been taking pictures for a very long time but I just dont have enough real world experience you know. I was thinking of offering free service for graduations, weddings, birthdays, etc. Is that a good idea?

I have been paid to do weddings in the past but I dont think that I got much experienced from it.

I have a Canon 30D and a Digital Rebel, along with many 35mm manual and automatic film cameras.

I would only expect clients to pay for film or prints.

So what do you think? Good idea or no?
    Sean

Re: Free Service!!

By doing work for free you will probably hurt yourself more in the long run. People think that if youdon't charge money or not enough that you are probably not that good. People are usually under the impression that you get what you pay for, and in most cases this is true. To get experience I would suggest going around to some professionals you see working these events and ask if can tag along, and maybe be a second shooter. Sometimes the person will say yes, and sometimes no. Sometimes they might pay you a little something, sometimes not. But, I believe by doing work for free you will end up regretting it later. Your time is worth something just like anyone elses.

Thats my 2 cents-Z
    Hell, there are no rules here-- we're trying to accomplish something.
    Thomas A. Edison

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.
    Thomas A. Edison

Assistant Work