Flash Website - Questions

Wasn't sure where else to post this, so feel free to move it if it's in the wrong place.

I'm looking to put up a simple flash site (think Adina-style - I really love the way her site looks) pretty soon and I'm wondering if anyone could offer any insight or advice with regard to the process, the costs and work involved, etc. I'm completely new to all of it.

What is the minimum number of images that you need for a decent representation of your work? (My thought was that I would try to get about 20 strong, diverse images together and that could conceivably adequately represent what I am capable of.)

Aside from the actual construction fee, what are the other costs involved? I've heard that you have to pay upwards of 200 bucks a year just for a server. Is that true?

Anything else that I should know about?

Thanks.

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: Flash Website - Questions

There are several sites out there that will do almost everything for you, for a price of course. They offer templates where you can basically drag and drop your images. Blu Domain is the fist thing that comes to mind. Adina is the one who introduced them to me a few years ago, but I have never used them. I do have some friends that use them and they are very happy with the service. Here is there site.I think they paid about $800/year for it though. Google flash web templates and I'm sure you will find lots of places offering the same service.

I always meant to use some of the web building templates and features that GoDaddy offers, but never got around to doing it. My wife used them for a simple site that she built, and it looks pretty nice. It's not a photo gallery, but I'm sure they have some things for photographers.