Customers called me with a problem - not sure what to do

I sell primarily digital copies of my pictures because people just do not want to pay print prices when they can go to Wal*Mart and get them alot cheaper (quality vs. price)......

Anyway, today a client called me and said that the people at Wal*Mart would not give them their pictures without a release from me. I handled it but got thinking about how this will affect other clients........

Do you have to give a release for each digital cd you sell? (Disk was sold with hi-res images) If so, how do I make it that they have right to have the images printed but yet I still have full control of what I want to do with these images (website, portfolio, etc)

What is the best way to go about this?
    Summer Katz
    Katz Photography
    www.katzphotography.net

Re: Customers called me with a problem - not sure what to do

I'm not a pro, but this seems like it shouldn't be an insurmountable obstacle. Virtually all software comes with a EULA (End User License Agreement). Why not make up a generic text file in photoshop and save it as a .jpg, granting the holder of the CD license to print copies? You could make the license as narrow (specifying size/number of copies/no commercial use) or broad (I.E. unlimited reproductions for any reason) as you like, without giving up your copyright protections. This way if there is ever a question, your rules and their rights are specified in the first image on the CD for whoever is doing the printing to see. You can even include contact information if there's any questions.

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

I had to do this for a shoot I did this past summer. A simple email saying they had the right to print the photos took care of it.