Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

Sell 50mm macro, keep 14-54mm zoom?

Here's my situation. I just bought the Olympus 14-54mm lens and am pretty blown away with it. I am an amateur but can tell there's a big difference between the kit lens and this one. The weight of it for one, plus it seems to focus quicker and is better in low light even though the aperture difference between the two is not that much.

So suddenly I feel I have no use for the 50mm macro I just bought. I know the aperature is bigger, the "bokeh" is better, but as I'm just getting started, would I be better off selling it and put that cash into the 50-200mm Non-SWD. I guess as an amateur I can't let go of not having a zoom on my lens; that's another reason I am considering selling it at this point.

I am not in a position to own all three and I think I can get about 85% of what I paid for the 50mm macro on eBay so it's not much of a loss.

I figure there's a good chance the 50-200mm is going to blow me away like the 14-54mm does and that's why I'm leaning this way. I guess the question is as I get deeper into photography at what point am I going to regret not having the 50mm? But at that point I can just buy another one anyway. Maybe I just answered my own question.
    Olympus Evolt E-510
    Olympus 14-54mm f/2.8-3.5
    Olympus 40-150 f/4-5.6

Re: Sell 50mm macro, keep 14-54mm zoom?