Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

Olympus e-510 photo delays

Presumably it's supposed to take a photo instantly with no delays at all. This is my problem- the camera takes a photo (flash isn't used and the picture is displayed on the screen) then 1 second later it replaces it with another photo and normally the person has assumed I took the shot and moved away as it's taking it. Even using the viewfinder isn't much quicker.I'm useing a 133x card and the standard 14-42mm lens. I'm new to this so help would be appreciated.

Focus technique?

Adam-
    How are you focusing? My guess is that focus is the problem. If the auto focus system isn't able to achieve focus, the camera may behave as you've described. Try pre-focusing, or using manual focus to see if that eliminates the delay. Also, what kind of light are you shooting in? In low light, this can be a common problem. But in bright light it shouldn't be.
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!

Re: Olympus e-510 photo delays

Do you have this camera then, or are you just using your general understanding of cameras?
    With the focus set to manual the problem still happens and the light can vary, but this changes nothing.

Actually with manual focus on and using the viewfinder it does take instant photos, but when you use the LCD you get the delay (if this were supposed to happen then surely it would have been mentioned in the reviews).
    Last edited by contactadam2002; 10-23-2008 at 01:41 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by contactadam2002