Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

How many shoot RAW routinely?

I was wondering how many of you routinely shoot RAW files, and then process the file?

If you do, what software program do you use? I have Oly Master 2 and Photoshop elements. On my old Mac with OSX10.3.9, the Oly runs REALLY slow.

Although a veteran photographer in 35mm, I am new to digital.

Re: How many shoot RAW routinely?

I shoot RAW 95% of the time. Unless I am shooting a ton of pictures and I know I will not want to spend the time processing the pictures. Sometimes I will mix it up when I do shoot a lot and will take a few RAW pictures. I use Lightroom which I love and is much better than Oly Master 2 and then I use PS7 to crop, clone, ect.
    I am like Barney Fife, I have a gun but Andy makes me keep the bullet in my pocket..

Sony a99/a7R

T-M

I prefer to shoot SHQ jpeg and meter with Center Weighted Averaging and set my White balance or use One-Touch White balance. I find RAW processing too time-consuming and would rather get my original exposures correct. I've been shooting film for years, so I know how to get it right in camera.

Shooting in RAW is much more than just exposure insurance. I'd rather work from RAW even in a perfectly exposed shot.

I always shoot RAW+SQ jpg. I use the (tiny) JPGs to browse the keepers from the trash. I edit in CS3. The olympus software is REALLY slow.