Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

Going with the E-PL1!

So, I've been doing a lot of soul searching lately, I have not been taking any pictures and feeling a bit burned out. I'm just a hobbyist, not a pro. I've done a few minor gigs over the last few years but nothing fancy, and I couldn't figure out why I lost my photo mojo.

I've come to the conclusion that I just have too much "stuff". I have a mini-DV camcorder, a point-and-shoot, a super-zoom, and a DSLR (with 2 lenses and 3 flashes), plus carrying cases, mini-tripods, a full-size tripod, different cables, etc. I never know what to choose, which camera I want to take on a trip, what I feel like using, etc. So, I'm starting over! I split my gear into 6 auctions on eBay. I've been doing research on the E-PL1, and I think it's perfect for me. Small enough to travel with, good enough performance for my needs, room to grow with future lenses, HD video, and one system/format to use.

I went down to Best Buy last night and tried one out, and I thought it was a great little camera, perfect for a guy like myself who likes the act of taking pictures more than the technical aspect of it. Sure, I'll learn the settings and learn how to get the most from it, but I'd rather have 1 system that I'll actually use rather than 4 systems that I won't! I'll sell my gear, buy an E-PL1, maybe get the viewfinder and a carrying case, have a few bucks left over, and I think that will get me back out in the world taking pictures instead of staring at piles of gear and shaking my head.