Olympus Cameras and Four Thirds System Digital SLRs Forum

Olympus Cameras Forum Discuss Olympus film and digital cameras as well as Panasonic and Leica Four Thirds System digital SLRs - forum moderator is Greg McCary.
Olympus E-System Digital SLR Reviews >>
Panasonic Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Leica Four Thirds Digital SLR Reviews >>
Official Four Thirds Web Page >>
Olympus OM-System 35mm SLR reviews >>
Olympus Cameras History Page >>

Oly Master 2 questions and problems

I know I must be either doing something wrong, or I have a computer, software problem.

First, let me proclaim that while a veteran 35mm shooter with darkroom expertise, I am a newbie in digital. I shot some interior stuff sans flash on Thanksgiving and it looked excellent in camera with good contrast and color balance. When viewing in the clunky Oly Master 2 software, many of the images looked different than they did in camera, appearing darker with a pronounced color cast. I used to the Oly software to correct the shots, freezing the app of two occasions.

My questions:

a) Why did the images look different in camera vs. viewing with the Oly software? Which should I trust to have printed?

b) Perhaps it is my older Mac running OSX10.3.9 that is causing the Oly software to run so damn slow and freeze at times. I might add this is the FIRST software I have ever ahd any problems with on this computer which I keep tightly maintained (in terms of running various maintenance programs. Is Master 2

c) I have an older version of Adobe Photoshop Elements 3.0. Perhaps I should use that, but then it will not recognize proprietary Oly RAW files, correct? Should I upgrade to Photoshop Elements 6.0, or, sigh, maybe it is time for a newer computer?

Any comments from you experts would be appreciate.

Re: Oly Master 2 questions and problems

Greetings,

First of all, have you downloaded and installed the latest Master update?

It's only been out for a few days or so....