Nature and Wildlife Photography Forum

Discuss all types of nature and wildlife photography, photo techniques, equipment, and share your nature and wildlife photos.
Featured Photo
Photo by BMOORE

by BMOORE
Featured Photo Archive >>

Now Have a Tamron 150-600mm lens: Whats next for the birds?

Hello all! I just purchased a Tamron 150-500mm lens today and am still having trouble shooting birds and other animals from a relatively short distance. I am shooting around 400 to 600mm and the quality of the shots is still very amateur and subpar at best. Am I missing something here? Perhaps a setting, technique, etc? I am shooting in low light today with grey skies, etc. and the image is just not clear. Colors are distorted and there is a defining outline to my subjects. I am very new at still photography but am hoping I made a good purchase of a lens for my T5i canon. Any help or tricks, etc. would be much appreciated as I am leaving for a short vacation to an island with lots of wildlife especially gators and shore birds. Thank you kindly!

Re: Now Have a Tamron 150-600mm lens: Whats next for the birds?

The longer the lens you shoot with the faster the shutter speed needs to be. If you are shooting at 600mm, your shutter speed needs to be at least 1/600 or faster. The longer the mm lens you use the shorter the depth of field will be. Also the closer you are to your subject the shorter the depth of field will be also. If you are shooting shorter distances and zooming in it adds to the problem. Also when you are shooting at closer distances make sure the limiter switch on the lens is set to "FULL" or it won't focus at all. This lens is a very capable lens and will serve you well once you figure out what you are doing.
    Check out my website Here
    My Nikon D7000 Tips thread is HERE

All images posted by me anywhere are Copyrighted by Federal Law and may not be copied or used in ANY FORM without my personal written permission. Jeff Impey