Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Question about fonts, and hosting...

I'm still in the process of building my site, but I have a few questions.

Font Question: When I built my site, I have the name of my future photo business, Magic Light Photography, at the top of the page. I built it using DreamweaverMX and I set the title using the font Fastrac Fasion. I love the way it looks on my system, but whenever I view my site from a different system the font changes. I'm no font expert, but it looks like Times New Roman to me. I'm assuming that this is the result of not having the font Fastrac Fasion loaded on the system that I'm veiwing the website on and it's reverting to a default font. Is this true, and if so, is there a way to change it so the text shows up as Fastrac Fasion no matter what system I'm viewing my page on?

Hosting Question: I currently have a limited amount of web space thru my ISP. If I were to get a web domain name from someone like Godaddy.com, could I use the space I have now, with my domain name? Could I leave my site right where it is, and just have the new name go right to it?
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

Re: Question about fonts, and hosting...

First the font issue.

Yes you will have this problem all the time, as the font isn't available on the computer that is viewing your webpage, so it drops back to something a bit basic that is thinks is close, a fall back plan. If you specially want to use the font, design the image in say photoshop using the font of your choice an then place the image there, everyone will then be able to see the image font as you want it to be.