Dreamweaver MX or Golive CS

I am a novice at putting together a site, but I do have Dreamweaver MX and Adobe GoLive CS on my computer. Which is easiest to use and what books should I look for to help me?

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: Dreamweaver MX or Golive CS

I too have both of these programs on my PC and I prefer to use Dreamweaver. I took a class on DW thru work a few years ago. When I decided to build a webpage, DW is the program I choose to use because it was the only program I was familiar with. It was a couple years after I took the class that I actually got to use the program, so I pretty much had to relearn everything. The company I work for has a library so I picked up a couple DW books to help me through. I think I used DW for Dummies, and The DW Bible. Dummies was OK and helped me figure out some stuff, and it wasn't nearly as intimidating as the DW Bible. My DW skills are still VERY basic, but I was able to build a couple of sites with it. I haven't been able to figure out GO Live yet, but I haven't put in much effort on it either. I think GO Live would intigrate much better with CS2 and make things a lot simpler, but I just haven't gotten that far yet.
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

Re: Dreamweaver MX or Golive CS

Seeing Adobe has bought out Macromedia, I think it would be a good choice to stick with Dreamweaver as I think Golive will quietly die a slow death.

Adobe has recently purchased Pixmantec as well because they want the intellectual knowledge of the programmers who have gone across as well.

So I think next year is going to be a changing time with Adobe products, Web design, and Graphics programs as well.